My First Post

I am very excited about my trip to Germany! Throughout the years, many people have asked me why I chose to study German. To be honest, I never thought I would be majoring in a language, but the German language has fascinated me since Middle School. My second oldest sister took German in high school, and her love for the language encouraged me to try it out. I took a brief course in Middle School and although my teacher was pretty old-fashioned, the language itself was very attractive to me. I went on to take four years of German in high school, where I was fortunate to have an excellent teacher who encouraged my love of the language. When I entered college, I was set on becoming a teacher because not only do I love school, I love the whole idea of teaching. I started my freshman year at Georgia State University with the intention of majoring in Early Childhood Education. It wasn’t too long before I switched my major to German with a concentration in teaching, mainly because I realized I just loved German too much to let it go. Now I’m in my fifth year at GSU and this trip abroad will count for my last German credit that I need before I begin my Student Teaching in January. This will be my first time in Germany, although it will not be my first time abroad, as many of you know. For those of you who don’t know that rather long and complicated story, I suppose I could put that on another post. Well, goodbye for now!

Leave a Reply

