Another lovely day in Berlin…

Hello again!  I thought I’d share with you all an interesting experience I had tonight on the U-Bahn (train).  I was riding with some sisters in a very crowded car after the prayer meeting when suddenly we heard some music playing.  It was hard to tell where it was coming from because the train was so crowded.  Then I heard singing.  In English, actually.  I turned around to see this guy in a red and white collared shirt wearing a tie with a keyboard on it jumping up and down while singing.  It was quite comical.  Then I heard a female voice chime in, and I was afraid that the whole car was going to burst into song like one of those things I can’t remember what they’re called but you know what I mean, but luckily she was with him.  Then I noticed that he brought an electric keyboard with him, which was where the music was coming from.  Whether it was a recording or he was playing it live on the train, I don’t know.  Probably it was recorded, since he was dancing and everything.  Anyway, when they finished the song, everybody clapped and then the girl walked around collecting coins from people.  I suppose it’s not that strange, but it seemed so at the time.  Mainly because it was such a crowded train car and suddenly you hear two people burst into song.

On another note, since I’ve been lugging around my huge backpack everywhere, my neck is really starting to bother me, so today I bought a little purse that says “I ❤ Berlin” on it.  I would have preferred it say “Ich ❤ Berlin”, but beggars can’t be choosers.  So now I have proof that I’ve been to Berlin. haha!

It takes a long time for me to upload pictures, so I haven’t uploaded all of the pictures I have taken because I haven’t had much time.  But now I have some time because I’m all finished with my homework and it’s not quite time to go to bed.  So here we go!

This is basically just a jelly-filled doughnut.  Apparently if you go to Berlin you have to try one.  It wasn’t that yummy.  I prefer our doughnuts.  Speaking of which, there are Dunkin’ Doughnuts EVERYWHERE in Berlin.  Who knew?

Typical fast food in Berlin

The church in Berlin!

Potsdamer Platz train station

A big lego truck that my nephews would love.  This was in a big department store in Alexanderplatz.

Light show at Alexander Platz

More lights

Two dear sisters in Berlin- I love them so much!

More sisters

This is a dear sister who is a true Ossi (East German).  Her German is very hard to understand, but she is so sweet!


Waiting for the train

Well, that’s pretty much all I have.  Talk to you guys later! 🙂

 

One response to “Another lovely day in Berlin…

  • Mutti

    Lovely day and thank you for the lovely pictures and smiling faces! The train station looked so CLEAN and bright! Dusseldorf ride sounded eventful.

Leave a Reply

