Daily Archives: December 2, 2011

Things I am Thankful for…

Tonight I am grateful for many things.  I’m thankful for hot Chamomile tea with honey, because it tastes so yummy and is so very soothing on a cold day, especially when one is sick.  I’m grateful to have no feelings of anxiety, but rather contentedness with where I am and what I am doing.  Going through some trying times has a way of reminding you how precious it is to simply be content.  I’m thankful for the opportunity to learn bit by bit that I have control over my feelings and I don’t have to succumb to depression and anxiety.  I’m grateful for the presence of God enveloping me.  I don’t think I’ll ever know why God loves me the way He does…but I’m so grateful he does.  I’m also thankful for chocolate.  Not only because it’s delicious, but because it just makes me happy! 😉 I’m grateful also for this incredibly amazing experience, and for everyone who helped make this experience possible and incredibly amazing!  I’m thankful for my classmates, who all stayed today to listen to my story about London last summer even though it was time for our coffee break and who surprised me with a cake on my birthday.  I’m grateful for all the brothers and sisters in the church in Berlin who have prayed with me and for me while I have been here.  And I’m thankful for all those back home who love me and are praying for me and/or thinking of me.  I miss you all so much!  On the one hand, I want to stay here longer because there’s still so much I could do, but on the other hand I miss my family and friends back home dearly and I cannot wait to see them again.  I can’t believe I only have two weeks left!  I wouldn’t trade this experience for a million dollars.  (A million dollars would just be one huge headache, anyway!)  That’s another thing I’m grateful for- that I don’t have too much money or too little money.  The Lord really knows how to take care of me.

These past few days I’ve mainly stayed at home, trying to recover from my cold.  Although I haven’t really done anything exciting, just being here is exciting.  But now that I’ve spent about 5 hours just relaxing, it’s time to get working on that homework!  My test for the course is in two weeks–I better get ready! 🙂  No worries, though; I just want to do the best I can.

Ciao for now,
Becky